top of page
Search

Small Town Charm in Nafplio

Our excursion to Nafplio began at 9am when we boarded the bus. As with our other excursions we stopped for coffee on the way. Our stop was a small coffee shop by the Corinth Canal which is a huge gorge with crystal blue water at the bottom. As for the coffee shop, I decided it was time to try Greek coffee despite being warned not to. I can easily say that was the first and last time I ever drink it. The taste itself wasn't good but wasn't awful, but the combination of bitterness and grittiness isn't the most pleasurable sensation. After this interesting experience, we hopped back on the bus and continued on to Nafplio.


The drive up to the Fortress of Palamidi provided beautiful views of the countryside, town and water. The crystal blue waters of Greece make me feel at home as they remind me so much of the beaches in Australia. The fortress itself was an amazing site, it weaves and winds around until you reach the top. The top provides views ranging from the town of Nafplio below to the Argolic Gulf. My friends and I had a great time wandering around and taking in view. We took around a thousand photos (mostly just to fill in time) and then got back on our bus to head into town.




Once in Nafplio, we headed straight to our lunch reservation. We ate 4 courses at a very nice restaurant and could barely move afterwards. We were then given around an hour to look around the town but unfortunately it was siesta so not much was open. It honestly didn't matter that the shops weren't open because the town itself was beautiful enough to entertain us. Everybody we passed seemed very relaxed, there was no traffic and the streets were the cleanest I've seen in Greece. There were pretty little houses and couples holding hands through the streets. It was truly such a beautiful experience.


Returning back to Agia Paraskevi and reflecting on my experience reinforced just how much I enjoyed my day in Nafplio. As much as I love the fun and excitement of the city, it's nice to be in a relaxing environment for some downtime. Nafplio has been my favourite place in Greece so far, and definitely somewhere I'm excited to show to my sister in May.


25 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page