top of page
Search

Travelling Before Being Abroad (Part I)

Life as an international student is pretty unique. Depending on where you are from, going home for breaks may not be an option. Every year I find somewhere new to stay for winter break because I can’t rationalise spending thousands of dollars to go home for a couple weeks. This year I found myself in Milford, CT for the first two weeks of break. My dad’s university friend was kind enough to take me in. Firstly, it is COLD in Connecticut and my Australian genes aren’t great with the cold. It has been -6/7°C every day so going outside isn’t super fun. While Milford, CT might not be the top tourist city, it's nice to be in a place which feels homely.


I have seen a few interesting things such as the Pez factory and Yale University. I went to both the art gallery and natural history museum at the university. I was shocked by the amount of famous art they had in their collection. It appeared as though they had a very generous donor who enjoyed Pablo Picasso’s work. I have been to quite a few art galleries in my life but never have I seen such a high concentration of Picasso. The natural history museum was also interesting as it appealed to my love of biology. New Haven as a whole was beautiful but it was just too cold to be outside for very long at a time. I would love to visit again and wander around the Yale campus when it's a little warmer.








10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page